Glazing

The porcelain pieces are first fired at approximately 950°C. This so-called biscuit-baking firing gives the paste more mechanical resistance and the adequate porosity so the glaze can set on the surface.

Glazing consists in soaking and covering the object with a layerof enamel, by putting it in a bath containing a subtle amount of mineral components. The glazed pieces are fired again for approximately 24 hours, in gradually increasing heat, up to the final temperature of 1400°C.

The "high fire" firing will give the porcelain its final shiny, vitrified aspect and its full radiance. The high fire firing at 1400°C having vitrified the piece of porcelain throughout, it is ready to be decorated. Chromolithography, painting, inlaying, all these processes require exceptional dexterity and skill. Once applied, the colors and precious metals to be vitrified are fired once or several times, touched up, burnished. Thus, to obtain a piece with the Raynaud hallmark, nearly 30 manipulations and many days of passionate work are required.

Bain d'émail

Les pièces en porcelaine sont cuites une première fois à 950° environ. Cette cuisson dite de "dégourdi" confère à la pâte une meilleure résistance mécanique et une bonne porosité qui permettront à l'émail de se fixer en surface.

L'emaillage consiste à imprégner et recouvrir l'objet d'une couche d'émail, par trempage dans un bain liquide, finement dosé en composants minéraux. Les pièces émaillées sont recuites 24 heures environ, par paliers successifs jusqu'à une température finale de 1400°. La cuisson "grand feu" donnera à la porcelaine son aspect définitif brillant, vitrifié et tout son éclat.

La cuisson "grand feu" à 1400° a vitrifié la pièce de porcelaine dans la masse et elle va pouvoir être décorée. Chromo-lithographie, peinture, incrustation, tous ces procédés nécessitent une habileté manuelle exceptionnelle. Les couleurs vitrifiables et métaux précieux une fois appliqués sont cuits une ou plusieurs fois, retouchés, brunis. Ainsi, près de 30 manipulations et des jours de passion sont nécessaires à l’obtention d’une pièce signée Raynaud.