Traditionnal shaping

Casting : Cast objects (tea pots, coffee pots, soup tureens, etc...) are produced by pouring porcelain slip inside hollow moulds. After a setting time, which can vary, the slip is deposited by sedimentation on to the walls of the mould. Any excess is then discarded.

Turning : Turned pieces (plates, dishes, cups, etc.) are produced on a lathe, the mould gives the inside shape, and a tool (the profile) determines the thickness of the outside form.

Isostatic pressing : The dry paste, mixed with an additive is injected under pressure between both parts of a mould. Isostatic pressing reduces the manual operations and increases the productivity capacity.

Fixtures : Once the pieces have been formed, the fixtures are added: handles, buttons, spouts, etc. are glued with porcelain slip to the untreated paste. The pieces are then "deburred" to remove the burrs or sea left by the moulds. The operations must be carried out with great care since porcelain is a material with a memory - if too much pressure is applied to a particular area, this zone will be affected permanently.

Firing : The porcelain pieces are then fired for the first time at approximately 1000┬░. This "biscuit baking", as it is known, strengthens the paste and improves its porosity, important in enabling the glaze to bond to the surface.

Le façonnage traditionnel

Le coulage : les objets coulés (théière, soupière, pièces de forme) sont réalisés par le versement de la barbotine à l'intérieur de moules en plâtre creux.Après un temps de "prise", la "croûte" formée sur les parois, constitue la pièce après démoulage.

Le calibrage : les objets calibrés sont des pièces circulaires (assiettes, plats, tasses...) façonnées au tour. Le moule donnant la forme extérieure, l'outil déterminant l'épaisseur.

Le pressage : la pâte séchée, additionnée d'un liant est injectée sous pression entre les moules composant les deux faces de la pièce. Le pressage isostatique permet d'obtenir une qualité moins aléatoire et une meilleure productivité.

Le garnissage : anses, boutons, becs de verseuses,... sont appliqués par collage à la barbotine sur les tasses et objets coulés. On attend quelques minutes avant le resserrage qui consiste à enlever les excès de barbotine. Ces opérations sont particulièrement délicates car la porcelaine a de la mémoire et chaque pression trop forte de la main reste inscrite à jamais au coeur de la matière.

La cuisson "dégourdi" : les pièces façonnées, grattées, ébavurées au tournazin, épongées, brossées, sont prêtes à subir le premier feu à 950°, dit "feu de dégourdi".